The STAM system (AutoMatic Transcription System) was developed as part of an industrial research project jointly supported by MK SOFT and Med Point Dz.

STAM's objective is to transcribe (translate) automatically texts written in spoken dialects in North African countries (as source language) into a text that is easily interpretable and comprehensible in French or English (as target languages). This transcription is also valid in the other direction. Currently, STAM supports several dialects: Algerian dialects, Amazigh (Berber) dialects, Egyptian dialects, Moroccan dialects and Tunisian dialects. It therefore offers a wide coverage of the dialects of the countries of North Africa.

Interest in the study of dialects has increased considerably thanks to the evolution of the use of the Internet and the mode of communication of Internet users. Nowadays, they use different platforms (social networks, discussion forums, tweets, etc.) to express their opinions on different subjects, to request or exchange information, to comment on an event, etc. Thus, we find in these different sources of information texts written in local dialects from which the editors originate, making the comprehension of the text practically impossible for people who do not speak the dialects used.

STAM offers the possibility to interpret and analyze the information contained in texts written in dialectal Arabic in order to extract the information content using tools of ALP (Automatic Language Processing) and adapted technics.

 

 

© 2011-2018 MED POINT DZ / MK SOFT

Le système STAM (Système de Transcription AutoMatique) a été développé dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche industriel soutenu conjointement par la société MK SOFT et la société Med Point Dz.

L’objectif de STAM est de transcrire (traduire) automatiquement des textes écrits dans des dialectes parlés dans les pays d’Afrique du Nord (comme langue source) en un texte facilement interprétable et compréhensible en français ou en anglais (comme langues cibles). Cette transcription est également valable dans l’autre sens. Actuellement, STAM prend en charge plusieurs dialectes : les dialectes algériens, les dialectes amazighs (berbère), les dialectes égyptiens, les dialectes marocains et les dialectes tunisiens. Il offre donc une large couverture des dialectes des pays d’Afrique du Nord.

L’intérêt pour l’étude des dialectes a pris une ampleur considérable grâce à l’évolution de l’usage d’Internet et le mode de communication des internautes. De nos jours, ces derniers utilisent différentes plateformes (réseaux sociaux, forums de discussions, tweets, etc.) pour exprimer leur avis concernant différents sujets, demander ou échanger des informations, commenter un évènement, etc. Ainsi, nous retrouvons dans ces différentes sources d’informations des textes rédigés dans des dialectes locaux dont sont originaires les rédacteurs, ce qui rend la compréhension du texte pratiquement impossible pour les personnes ne parlant pas les dialectes employés.

STAM offre la possibilité de pouvoir interpréter et analyser les informations contenues dans des textes rédigés en arabe dialectal afin d’en extraire le contenu informationnel en se basant sur des outils de TAL (Traitement Automatique des Langues) et techniques adaptés.

 

 

© 2011-2018 MED POINT DZ / MK SOFT